The writing connections …

I recently read …

Being a writer is easy.
It’s like riding a bike.
Except the bike is on fire.
You’re on fire.
Everything is on fire.
And you’re in Hell.

I must say that this is not my experience of writing to date, but I did get quite a kick out of this quote anyway.

Now, have I had moments of questioning the worth of my work? Oh yes.

Have I had moments of self-doubt? Most definitely.

Have I had moments of fear? Fear of failure? Quite often.

But I have also had moments of Joy. Joy in the journey. Joy in the struggle. Joy in overcoming. And Joy in acknowledging for myself that I had the courage to follow this path.

I have also had my moments of self-belief. Belief that what I have to share will serve another.

And I have had many moments of gratitude. Gratitude for family, for friends, for supporters, for doubters, for the past, for the present, and for the future.

Today the writing journey has reached the 79,000 word mark.

And each message within this memoir, within this story, within this journey, serves as a connection between the questioning, self doubt & fear AND the joy, self belief & gratitude.

A connection that honors the process.

A connection that embraces the yin and yang.

And a connection that I am blessed to witness through the treading of this path.

The journey continues. As do the connections.

I am both scared and encouraged …

… and most grateful for both.

NEXT: The writing blessings …

5 comments

  1. YES!!!!!! Lovely!! I have actually experienced MORE joy than pain in the process of finding my voice and passion for writing. I haven’t experienced any blocks. Self-doubt? Sure. But it doesn’t last long. Why? Cuz I know I was meant for this. It lights me up like no other thing I’ve done. And when you love something that much, it doesn’t matter what your inner critic tells you…you don’t tend to believe it. 🙂 Thanks for this post!

    • Thank you for sharing, Laura. Your love for what you do is so very apparent in the energy and passion you bring to your writing, facilitating, teaching, and community building. To all you do.

      It is apparent in the words you express and the art which you share.

      You inspire and teach many (including me).

  2. In a too often Valley of Silicon(e) “culture,” here and beyond in U.S., where “experts” predict the end of blogging — and writing overall (said as someone married to a writer, poet, AND non-profit social media professional — and yet FAR from naive we are, rest assured, in “healthcare,” community INvestment “for” emPOWERment “y mas”), once again Tom, in all sincerity, I say to what you wrote…”AMEN!” You are “proving” to be a (never taken for granted these days) “authentic” and “IN”spirational #NeverSurrender “servant leader.” Thank you for real, “through the fire,” for real. After 09112001, in NYC, I received from the UK, and I hope it “IN”spires YOU now and “forward”:

    “You ask, what is our aim? I can answer in one word. It is VICTORY, victory at all costs, victory in spite of all terror, victory, however long and hard the road may be; for without victory, there is no survival.”

    ― Winston S. Churchill

    • Thank you so very much for your continuous encouragement, support, and feedback, Emmett. People like you are such a blessing to so many and you inspire me to continue on this path.

      With gratitude…

Leave a Reply

