Relationship-centered care provides the underlying approach to deliver the best practice themes.

Relationship-centered care and the Senses framework from My Home Life

Mike Nolan and a team at Sheffield University identified six dimensions that underpin ‘relationship-centered care’ in the Six Senses Framework (2006). These six ‘senses’ acknowledge the subjective and perceptual nature of the key determinants of care for the three groups of people in the care setting: older people, families and staff. Nolan and his colleagues argue that each of these three groups need to feel:

•a sense of security (to feel safe);
•a sense of continuity (to experience links and connections);
•a sense of belonging (to feel part of things);
•a sense of purpose (to have a goal(s) to aspire to);
•a sense of fulfilment (to make progress towards these goals); and
•a sense of significance (to feel that you matter as a person).

Read more about from “My Home Life” HERE

Read more about the Senses framework and relationship centered care here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s