The writing Fates …

“This is not a dead end, Tommy. Only a detour. You will be back.”

It was many years ago, and I was at one of my lowest points. My health challenge had taken its toll. I had just resigned from my dream job after being told I would never work again. And I was saying my good byes to those I cared so deeply about … my team.

Flash forward 15 years, and the same person who uttered those words of comfort and I were fated to sit side by side on a plane about to leave Charlotte, North Carolina for Portland, Maine.

I had just sent my book off to my editor and was opening myself back up to new opportunities. And having flown with my bride and youngest daughter Haylee to the Midwest, and what appeared to be another amazing position, I was now once again in deep conversation with my friend.

“Tommy, what have you been up to? What are you doing next?”

As I shared the condensed version of my most recent journey, I remembered fondly our time together years ago ensuring military retirees and families were being honored by the healthcare system and both cared for and cared about.

“What do you mean, Tommy, you are about to get a job offer? What that really means is that you are a free agent. And with your passion and commitment to person centered care, I am coming after you to join me at the Studer Group. You see, each and every day we improve healthcare for physicians to practice, patients to receive care and employees to work. And what you do and how you do it fits perfectly with who we are and what we do.”

Lord knows this was not what I was expecting. My bride and I were in serious planning mode as we focused on ensuring Haylee was well-positioned to finish her senior year in high school, my book journey would continue, and I would accept an exciting leadership role with a critical access hospital.

“There are no coincidences, Tommy. You and I were meant to reconnect here today and at this time.”

And now five and a half months since that fated reconnection …

So, yes my dear friend, with your love and support my journey continues.

And I am most grateful.

161231-fates

 

Accept the things to which fate binds you, and love the people with whom fate brings you together, but do so with all your heart.

~ Marcus Aurelius

 

 

5 comments

  1. Love this Tom. I so believe the people that show up in our lives are divinely placed….as you were in mine! Happy New Year! Grateful to be able to be a part of your journey this year!

Leave a Reply

